people, people

Beck on Bolin

Not the latest supergroup, but with Jeff Beck himself are (from Beck’s band) Jason Rebello, Narada Michael Walden (Tommy Bolin Band), Peter Frampton bassist Stan Sheldon (Energy) , and Tommy’s bother Johnnie, They were meeting up backstage at a recent Beck show in Kansas.

“of course it’s official, I got it off ebay!”

Beck, who is out and about promoting his new album Emotion & Commotion (which is kind of OK – some great playing of course but a bit laid back and lacking in substance compared to his last few – was quoted in Guitar World in May (2010) as saying:
“Billy Cobham’s Spectrum album gave life to me at the time, on top of the Mahavishnu records featuring Jan Hammer. It represented a whole area that was as exciting to me as when I first heard Hound Dog by Elvis Presley. They were inspirational to me to the point that I started to adopt that type of music. Tommy Bolin’s guitar playing on Spectrum is fantastic. What a sad loss.”

Thanks to Damian Phelan
