Jon Lord

Jon Lord has posted the news that he is taking some time off, having been diagnosed with cancer and while he undergoes treatment.  On behalf of everyone who reads this site and has loved his music, we’d like to say we all wish him the best for the future and look forward to having him back in action next year. As he promises he will be. We’re holding him to it. His message in full simply reads:

“I would like all my friends, followers, fans and fellow travelers to know that I am fighting cancer and will therefore be taking a break from performing while getting the treatment and cure. I shall of course be continuing to write music – in my world it just has to be part of the therapy – and I fully expect to be back in good shape next year.
God bless and see you soon. Jon.”

Casting my mind back, as news like this tends to make you do, to when I first heard Deep Purple, it is obvious now that it was the amazing keyboard work which endured the band to me as much as anything. That lovely gentle intro at the start of Speed King in particular (the b-side to my first single by them). Then not long after the astonishing organ work in the H-Bomb bootleg version of Mandrake Root; I was hooked. And still am. DP themselves haven’t been the same since he moved on to explore his other musical passions at the start of the new millenium, and I doubt anyone who was there will ever forget the atmosphere at his final official Purple show in Ipswich.

32 Responses to “Jon Lord”

  1. chris bradbury Says:

    May I just echo your sentiments about our Mr Lord and wish him all the very best. He is genuinely a national treasure. It should be SIR JON LORD! Speedy recovery, Sir Jon.

    Chris Bradbury

  2. Jack Says:

    Dear Jon, my prayers and blessings are with you and your family. Keep up with the good spirits. With respect and affection: Jack. Aguascalientes, Mexico.

  3. Pete Lewis Says:

    Dear Jon,
    Thinking of you at this difficult time. Look forward to your full recovery in the near future.
    Best wishes,
    Pete Lewis, Somerset

  4. Dave Binnie Says:

    hope to see you back in action soon, Jon!

  5. Andy Worthington Says:

    I remember the Bradford show, Jon and Don, I don’t think I have ever felt such strong emotions at a concert, tears to my eyes was an understatement. We will all keep Jon’s battles in our thoughts until we see him on stage again next year

  6. fabio Says:

    nowadays, when one is talking about how a hammond organ can really rock through a Marshall amp,immediately Jon comes in….a Lord and a Master in music, a talent, a legend in classical context too…nearly all solos he played are history…Jon, soon you’ll be back on that seat behind your instrument

  7. Vincent Budd Says:

    Wishing Jon all the best – in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. Chris Hayward Says:

    I’ve been a fan since 1968 when I fist heard Hush on the day of it’s release 43 years ago! Since then I have loved Jon’s Keyboard work and he inspired me to take up keyboards many years ago. DP isn’t the same without him although Don does a great job it’s not the same. I wish him all the best and look forward to his return to the stage.

  9. Christoph Hümmeler Says:

    Mr. Lord was the one to raise my passion for the Hammond (still not as a player but as a listener). There are, more than others, two songs, that I like most: Hard Lovin´ Man and Wring That Neck from the BBC-Sessions.
    Knowing that, you may imagine how sad I am after reading this message. Mr. Lord, good luck fighting this.

    Christoph Hümmeler

  10. Gary Critcher Says:

    Get well soon, Jon!

  11. peter chrisp Says:

    What can you say. Let’s hope he makes a full recovery and soon too, a true legend.

  12. Ian Dunbar Says:

    What this latest news about Jon has made me realise (especially after the loss of RJD and Gary Moore) is that, be it right or wrong, I have started to look at going to gigs as much for the reason that it could be the last time I get to see a specific person perform live. I hate thinking like this… (but) none of us are immortal. Sad times…

  13. Geoff Quade Says:

    Simon, you are so spot on. I’m not a musician, just a guy who likes listening to music. My first DP experience was listening to In Rock and therefore that intro! I’ve loved any form of DP with IG in it, but although I remain a great fan, DP without Jon has not been the same (can’t say the same about the man in black though, even though he was awsesome!). Did see Jon at Pompey Guildhall on that farewell.

  14. Steve Grover Says:

    Well said Simon. The emotion from the crowd towards at Jon at Ipswich was something to behold. I agree the Purps haven’t beem the same since, losing a lot of soul and warmth in their performances, particularly live.
    Jon was always the best counter point to Blackmore’s naturally dominant playing, providing depth and substance, dueling toe to toe as equels.
    Fingers crossed that he’s back in action and his old self before too long.
    Keep on rockin!
    Steve.

  15. Ronnie Bellamy Says:

    Terribly shocked at the news of Jon’s illness and I wish him a full and speedy recovery. His musicality has touched me throughout my life and the music world is certainly enriched by his huge contibution to it – there is certainly NOBODY like Jon Lord and long may he continue. Take care Jon and know that you are loved by many.

  16. Tony Says:

    Thoughts and prayers with him and his family at this time.

  17. Stephen Clare Says:

    Like thousands of other fans my thoughts go to Jon and his family and those that will get him through this time and I send them positive thoughts and look forward to his return next year. Thinking as you have suggested, my first introduction to DP was through Made In Japan and Jon’s intro to Highway Star. This was the moment that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up and my ears take notice for the rest of what was to come. For me Jon’s work throughout that album was one of the main reasons I turned to Purple. When I bought the rest of their work he always had `something different` to say.

  18. Chris Carver Says:

    Not sure what to say. I know that cancer can be beaten because I’ve done it twice now. I wish Jon all the best for that fight but let’s not forget his family … it will affect them and they need just as much support as Jon.
    Taking time out is the best thing for him to do and I’m sure we’ll see and hear from him again next year.

  19. Michael Richards Says:

    Re Ipswich I totally agree, the way the band left the stage one by one leaving Jon alone to receive the applause was wonderful, there literally wasn’t a dry eye in the house and I was really pleased I’d made the effort to get there to see it.
    Our thoughts and prayers are with Jon and his family

  20. andrew key Says:

    Too right. All the best Jon.

  21. jim Says:

    best wishes to john from greece

  22. vince chong Says:

    I can only wish him well and expect his full recovery very soon. Yes his solo on H Bomb was outstanding, but I thought he was, besides Paicey, the most consistent performer in all live gigs since the inception of Purple. One of my fave live moments is still his stellar organ solo in Highway Star, Toronto 2001. Get well soon Mr. Lord.

  23. Arty Says:

    Here, Here. Jon, you are the master! I met you a number of times over the years at gigs in Australia. You are just a pure gentlemen…
    I will be praying for you and your family and that you come back to full health because not only do we want to hear you creating and performing beautiful music but the world continues to need gentlemen around like YOU.
    Cheers,
    Arty

  24. Martin Karski Says:

    Agreed Simon, Jon is one of those man with the “magic touch” that can’t be replaced. Instantly recognisable, regardless the genre, especially on the Hammond.

    What I personally praise in the man though – are the qualities that are rarely mentioned in the media. The flawless manners – Jon is an extraordinary example of the British gentleman in a good sense, the feeling is overwhelming when he’s around. You just want to be around, keep him company. He’s also a wonderful talker with absolutely lovely voice that would fit radio show perfectly. Great listening. Not to mention his infectious laughter. Anybody remember the bit from “Come Hell…” video, where he discusses Roger Glover’s vocal abilities in the context of Purple having to do a show while Gillan’s ill? The brightest probe of what Jon voices can do, love it to bits. Just as almost everything else about the man.

    I got used to calling him an unique “rennaisance man” in the modern century – he spans so many unique qualities as a person altogether. It reaches far beyond his illimitable composing and playing talents. That’s why he’s a Purple family member that I state dearest of all for me.

    Needless to say I was crushed by the news, but I do believe that if a man of a great spirit is able to conquer this evil thing inside – then he’s the one who WILL succeed.

    Love you Jon, best wishes, get well soon. If the news were one of the worst I could’ve imagine – then now it’s the turn for the best ones – that your full recovery is on.

    Fingers crossed, hats off, good luck!

  25. Anthony Says:

    An abiding memory is of Jon Lord’s very gentlemanly request for quiet when drunks interrupted the first night of the ’99 Concerto. Get well soon!

  26. John Handy Says:

    Nice words Simon, echoed by us all in The DPAS & beyond im sure. As much as i “enjoy” the current Deep Purple it was always the dueling between Jon & Richie (along with Ian’s punching rhythms) in any of early line ups that drew me in & stays with me to this day… Musically, such driving competition in a band we never did see in any of their contemporaries (inc. Led Zep! Let the debate commence?). God-bless Jon, rest easy, get well soon, see you next year & ‘before i forget’ THANKS!!

  27. Marcel Hartenberg Says:

    Hope a full recovery is on its way. Wishing Jon all the best. I don’t think there has ever been a keyboard player (just using this as a mere understatement) that has had the influence on rock music in general that Jon has. And, as far as keyboard players go, that have been able to touch me with their music as much as Jon has. Be well soon, Jon.

  28. Mike Galway Says:

    Get Well soon Jon- we are all mandrake rootin’ for you. Thanks for all the great music and here’s to much more to come- God Bless

  29. Estefanio Monteiro Says:

    Best whises from all your friends and fans, one more battle to win, and you gonna win by sure…

  30. Charles Ashmore Says:

    what dreadful news – I am sure we will all be wishing Jon the very best in his fight against cancer. I think you speak for us all in identifying his contribution as instrumental in what made the great Purple sound.

    Without denigrating Don’s contribution at all, Jon remains a great loss to the band.

    Over the last couple of years I have seen Jon perform at the Childline gig at Indigo2 where his performance was immense and it was clear just how highly regarded he is within the industry with legends such as Uriah Heep and Thunder clearly thrilled to be sharing the bill with him. I also saw him more recently at this year’s Sunflower Jam. Disappointed though I was not to see him perform with the boys, his performance was nevertheless the highlight of the evening and his duel with Rick Wakeman was a joy to behold.

    Having lost RJD to cancer last year, we must hope and pray that Jon’s fight is successful and that we can all see him on stage again in the not too distant future.

    God bless

  31. Tom Dixon Says:

    Nice words Simon.
    The news also made me think back to the first time Jon’s swirling Hammond captivated me. It was the unmistakeable Child in Time – my brother was playing In Rock when I heard the into, then the verses, then the screaming, then the fast bit! I was hooked from then on & listened to the whole album in disbelief… I had been the proud possessor of one single up until then (OK, I admit it, it was Glad All Over by the Dave Clark Five!!). As my brother was very protective of his vinyl, I had to save up & buy my own copy, swiftly followed by the earlier Purple recordings.
    For me, if one thing defines Purple, it is Jon Lord. Yes, Blackmore was special, but Lord’s keyboard work set them apart from every other band on the planet.
    His is a very unique talent, to be celebrated & remembered with warmth & genuine thanks.
    I wasn’t at Ipswich, but I did see two of his ‘shared’ gigs with Don Airey.
    We can only hope that the big C is a little c & I am sure he will defeat it & go on to make more great music – albeit outside of Purple.
    As Mr Coverdale said, “We wish you well”

  32. Jon Kirkman Says:

    One of the nicest men I have ever had the pleasure to interview and talk to. he made a point of coming into the control room at Abbey Road to explain a few things about the then newly remastered Concerto album. I sincerely hope and pray that he wins his battle and we are abe to enjoy more music from this quite wonderful musician. Away from Purple or with them the man has made a huge contribution to popular music which I thoroughly enjoy.

Leave a Reply

