Shopping at Cann’s

Philip Cann record shop Sheffield Deep Purple In Rock

So there I was writing an article about one of the long lost local Sheffield record shops when Neil Anderson, who writes a lot of books on local history, let me have this rare shot of the inside of Philip Cann (The Music Man!), which was one of my regular haunts in the early 1970s. And there in the racks sits Deep Purple In Rock. I have dated the photograph to 1972, so it can’t have been the copy I bought, but great to see the place again. If you’ve any interest in such history you can read the full piece on my album sleeve art blog here. Some people are having fun trying to see how many sleeves in the photo they can spot!

13 Responses to “Shopping at Cann’s”

  1. Linda Says:

    I bought a small table at a flea market and it has a label on it that appears original that says “Philip Cann-Sheffield”. I wonder if it was in this music store. Anyone got any ideas?
    .

    • simon robinson Says:

      Can you send me a snap Linda? The shop did sell a few other bits and pieces especially in their earlier days.

  2. Tony B Says:

    Sorry to add more to this but Simon’s last reply to Bruce evoked a scenario I now often think about as years advance! The young un’s in charge of us at the old folk’s home will laugh at what they see as quaint old-fashioned memories, silly attachments etc. As Simon mentioned, I also agree that they are ‘pleasures to treasure’ and they can’t take them away from us as long as we can remember them.

    I think I would still be OK with glam rock as I still like a lot of it now. But I’m not completely sure I will later. I can picture a horrifying image at the old people’s home where staff try to get the old folk to exercise to “Wig Wam Bam”.

  3. Tony B Says:

    I remember having a copy of the textured Fireball LP as well and the pleasure of feeling the sleeve. I always liked gatefold sleeves as well.

    Interesting question about the smell of new LPs as I bought a few shrink-wrapped US copies. I bought the Hughes-Thrall LP like that but with the corner clipped off. Brand new LPs were a treat to me as a cash-strapped schoolboy – the smell/feel of pristine card and new vinyl itself. I also liked that pong of record cleaning fluid for after too! Most of the records I bought were second-hand, dog-eared, scribbled over by previous owners etc copies.

    All the above was an important part of the whole music buying experience to me, perhaps ridiculed by some today?

    I like the pic of Cann’s above – reminds me of Wood’s record store in Bradford and their listening booths, I guess like the ones described in the blog link above.

    • simon robinson Says:

      I remember those little bottle’s of cleaning fluid now you mention them, sold by companies like Bib. And like Tony a lot of my early albums were second-hand, often bought or traded with kids at school; my copy of Shades being one (it still has the price in biro on the back cover), Concerto another (“It’s got a bloody Orchestra on it, do you want to buy it off me?” Clearly he’d not read beyond the band’s name on the front – or the English lessons weren’t going too well). Which is why listening booths at stores were so popular. Cann’s did have a row but they’re out of shot in that photo. I’m trying to get into the local newspaper archive to see if they’ve any more.

  4. Helmut Says:

    Books have a smell and LPs had, too. Loved that, too. Downloads just stink.

  5. Mike Galway Says:

    Pervert!

  6. Bruce Metcalfe Says:

    Simon! Did new LPs in Britain have a “new album” smell, like myself and a lot of my friends lament about today? I can recall removing the wrap off the Stormbringer LP and smelling the fresh paint from the cover artwork! I never got the same satisfaction from CDs and now… downloads! Forget it!

    • simon robinson Says:

      Bruce, you’re dragging me into dangerous territory here. I still get stick off certain people for admitting I enjoyed the textured feel of the original Fireball sleeve… I suspect that the vinyl smell was more an feature of American vinyl. How so? Well they were largely shrinkwrapped. All vinyl leeches chemicals gradually, but generally you don’t notice. Under shrinkwrap it builds up so tearing it off suddenly releases this. So for your fix, try picking up some cheap still wrapped junk albums from your local thrift store!
      The same would apply to the printed cover, and again be more noticeable in America as sleeves in Europe were mostly laminated at that time. I still like the smell of a newly litho printed book in the morning, one of the best things of working at a printers for years.

      • Bruce Metcalfe Says:

        Exactly. I remember now! I had 3 import LP by King Crimson (USA, Red and Starless And Bible Black). The cardboard was thinner and covers smoother! Not much of a smell!

      • simon robinson Says:

        You see Bruce, we’ll be treasuring all these little memories when we’re stuck in the old folk’s home trying to avoid Glam Rock being piped over the Tannoy. I’d need a copy of Starless & Bible Black in there with me too, my second fave Crimson album. Just been struggling through Discipline and can’t believe what a rip off of Talking Heads it was.

Leave a Reply

