RAINBOW RISING – The Story Of Rainbow book

roy davies rainbow bookThe first and only history of Rainbow from Ronnie Dio to Dougie White. Written by Darker Than Blue man Roy Davies, it covers the story of the band from inception to closure, using intervews and other sources. The book includes a lengthy gig guide and some black and white photos.
This title was first released in 2002 but has been out of print for several years. After a long delay the publishers have organised another short print run. Don’t hang about if you want to ensure a copy (DTBOnline store have this in stock now).

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “RAINBOW RISING – The Story Of Rainbow book”

  1. Johnny Sinclair Says:

    This is a fake book! “It has come to our attention that someone has published a book called Rainbow Rising. Please be aware that this is completely unauthorized by our office. Ritchie was not interviewed for this book and he was not involved with it in any way.”
    So, don’t buy it!

    • simon robinson Says:

      It isn’t a fake book John! Anybody is allowed to publish a biography; whether the subject wants to get involved or not is up to them. And the book has been out for years in one form or another.

  2. Mark Nolde Says:

    I’d like to buy this book. I wanted to earlier and skipped it because I wanted the hardbook version and did not find that anymore. Is it accessible through local stores? Or should I try buy through the Net?
    I don’t have a creditcard but am able to make a payment through InterNetbanking?
    Cheers, Mark

    • simon robinson Says:

      The hardback is long long gone. I’m not sure what InterNetbanking is (if it’s a recognised service). I don’t know how you can order over the net without a c/c registered somewhere. DTBOnline store could accept Euros by post if that helps any; email Ann for details.

  3. Chip Tarbutton Says:

    I suppose it took a level of courage to move so far afield from Rainbow / Deep Purple. I eagerly bought the first BN album. I really tried to like it, but it was, to borrow a hip internet phrase, meh. It never really progressed from that. In fact, BN now seems a lot like 93 Deep Purple, or 84 Rainbow, with Blackers just kind of there for the guitar solos… but now largely without the guitar solos. I also have never been a fan of Candice’s voice, which has always seemed rather flat and lifeless. I am all for experimentation, but just like with Rainbow and Deep Purple he has fallen into a musical rut and won’t listen to anyone to help him progress. Still I’m Sad…

  4. Anthony Says:

    Not much mention of the fact that Blackmore allegedly suffers from tinnitus has been made when discussing his apparent change of musical direction. The melodies you hear in Blackmore’s Night aren’t vastly different from those in Purple, especially the type floating around from ’88 to ’93, and Rainbow. What I’m saying is that the loud, souped-up and heavily amplified sound may have gone, but the music hasn’t done the complete u-turn many say it has. I have mild tinnitus, and it does prevent exposure to loud music. Have only been to one gig (Savoy Brown) in years. If RB has a worse case of ringing in the ears, I’m surprised he ever risks the full might of the Strat.

    • simon robinson Says:

      I’ve no idea if this is true of not Anthony, though we do have friends who suffer from this so can readily sympathise with your own condition. I try to restrict the number of records I play at a high volume to avoid further harm.
      And yes it’s true, many of Blackmore’s Night’s themes and riffs flow from the same fountain and could (or would) have found expression in Purple or Rainbow if history had been different.

  5. alex Says:

    Just one thing regarding the cover: you know, there are a lot of nice Rainbow pics through the years, but this is a bad choice; more better (for example) pictures were in Darker Than Blue magazine n°55 (pg.29) from original design of first book appearance.

  6. Paul Hogan Says:

    Just ventured back in – thanks for the comments everyone – an interesting discussion. Yes I’m happy Ritchie is happy but I’m not happy to listen to his music now, and given the part he’s played in my musical life, Still I’m Sad about that! I think overall that his biggest problem has been the need to always ‘call the tune’. In DP he always had to be dominant – that meant that when he was having a good night he and the band were unsurpassed. If on the other hand he was in a bad mood or things weren’t going his way he become sulky and difficult and dragged the whole show down with him.

    Rainbow was so great in the early days precisely because he got to call the shots and did just what he wanted, and that was magic to behold – and must have been cathartic for him. He didn’t particularly have to accommodate anyone else cause it was his band and he was unquestionably in charge. Whilst it was good while it lasted, that seemed to set the tone for his later career and maybe he got so used to being alpha male he could no longer approach music as a collaboration of equals. And that in turn impinged on his ability to be influenced by others with their own ideas and for there to be the sort of chemical reaction taking place that’s necessary for great music to happen.

    Everything he did from then on was ‘his band’, and that’s probably why the DP reunion didn’t really fire. He was no longer the Lord of the Manor (pardon the pun with respect to dear Jon) and – when forced to be an equal collaborator, despite flashes of the old brilliance for the most part he looked bored and played ambivalently.

    After that there was that one Rainbow album that, despite the obvious talents of those involved, sounded like Ritchie hadn’t learned anything new since 1978, then the succession of BN albums (alba!) that sounded like nothing new had been learned since 1678. Abba meets Henry VIII.

    Quite apart from that, I have serious reservations about 67 year old men in tights.

  7. overthehill Says:

    Even if Blackmore never steps outside of Blackmore’s Night we still have the remote hope that he may open his archives and let us hear all those jams and instrumentals from his Rainbow and Purple reunion era.

    On another note….That footage that was used for the “Perfect Strangers” video would be quite the treat for a DVD release along with that show where “Nobody’s Home” was culled from.

    *By the way Simon was right above when he mentioned how we looked forward to hearing glimpses of Blackmore on acoustic back in the old days.

  8. Jack. Says:

    Hope that Ritchie gives up the hurdy gurdy stuff he´s been into for the last 15 years and brings back Rainbow again. He’s a superb guitar player, really amazing. Rainbow’s Stranger in Us All was a superlative album. So Ritchie, start playing what you know best. The best hard classical influenced rock of all time!

  9. Chip Tarbutton Says:

    Paul, you have done a nice job summing up Ritchie’s career from 1981-present. I graduated from high school in 1984 and Rainbow’s AOR phase seemed great to me as an adolescent. As I grew older I explored the older Rainbow and Deep Purple material (as well as the reunion era stuff of course) and I soon began to see the JLT era for what it was…AOR drivel.
    I still have a soft spot for some of that drivel (it is a part of my youth after all). Ritchie has a lot of good musical ideas but he needs a strong counterweight; something his ego hasn’t consistently allowed since the 1970’s.
    In particular your assessment of BN is spot on. I wanted to like BN but as you so well put, this watered down medieval/new age “fusion” hasn’t progressed much since the first CD.
    He seems happy with his current musical direction, so who am I to judge. But it all seems very sad to me…

  10. Ian Douglas Says:

    Yes, the early Rainbow was phenomenal and I loved the first three albums. I saw the Rising lineup twice in Sydney, the best shows ever. Everyone was on fire and Ritchie didn’t have anything to prove but went for it. Much more so than the humdrum DP shows I saw with him later in the 80’s. I tried to get into the later material but somehow the Bonnet album was a half-caste (and the remaster additions awful!); see my “Musings re RJD / JLT eras” (on site) for my views on the period after that – I must say though the Doogie White album was quite enjoyable if very much heard before.

  11. Dave Stoddard Says:

    What a journey – (I) think the Dio/Rainbow days will always be with us as a fond memory, butIi remember seeing them on the final tour with Jolene and thinking Blackmore had finally got it right, only to u-turn and go with the re-formed Purple.
    Not that I think that that was a bad move.
    Think I would agree that similar Blackmores Night albums have been made over the years, but without a doubt I’ve seen four great performances during this period, where as I can only recall two standout Rainbow/Purple gigs between 77 and 83.

  12. overthehill Says:

    I agree with Paul Hogan. I too am really disappointed in what has happened with Ritchie. I wish Blackmore’s Night had been “darker” in style. I am the most devoted Blackmore fan but I just have given up on that project. So much of Richie’s style comes from his control of loud amplifiers and his plectrum technique. I really think he looses a bit of his identity with finger-style playing.

    • simon robinson Says:

      It’s strange isn’t it, while he was in Purple and Rainbow, any glimpse of Blackmore with an acoustic was greeted with fascination and us fans wondering what he would sound like. The little touches on the first Rainbow album in particular sparked lots of interest. For me it’s not the fact that his current work is acoustic which turns me off, but just that it’s so bland. In fact it’s become almost like later Rainbow, where you just stood around in the hall waiting for the guitar solos. Ah well, like Arthur (surely not THE Arthur Smith?) I voted with me feet years ago.

      • Arthur Smith Says:

        I am THE Arthur Smith to my family and in my own head, but no relation to the comedian of the same name!

      • simon robinson Says:

        That’s OK then, or I’d be forced to tell you to cheer up!

      • Arthur Smith Says:

        Indeed, I’m not quite as grumpy as my namesake but can get there talking about the Purple family who have been part of my musical landscape for decades, I have voted with my feet for years, I haven’t seen Blackmore live for nearly 10 years or Purple since Jon’s last gig at Ipswich. I would see Ritchie again but recent gigs have been too far away from where I live.

  13. Johan Antonides Says:

    Paul, where the ACDC’s, the Aerosmiths, the Rush’s, the Deep Purple’s of this world have chosen to play the same routine for more than 40 years now and will do till the end of time, Ritchie had the guts to do something else. Now that’s what I call adventurous! Instead of pumping 125dB from his two 200 watt amplifiers into the audience, he now let us enjoy an other side of his great talent. And yes not all the music of Blackmore’s Night is brilliant, but with songs like Fires at Midnight I can forgive him.

  14. Paul Hogan Says:

    I often wonder if Ritchie’s journey from wild abandon to commerciality and conservatism was something that was always in him or just a sign of ageing. He once said in an interview that he wanted to make the music he likes and doesn’t care if it sells or not. That was very early in the Rainbow days but later he seemed so overwhelmingly ambitious that he was prepared to put that all aside in embracing US style AOR, presumably in a quest for commercial success in America.

    Commercially the move – whether calculated or simply an expression of the music he really wanted to play – never really broke through in a big way in the US market and for my money probably did his career more harm that good by making him sound like all the Foreigner clones clogging the airwaves.

    I was excited at the prospect of Blackmore’s Night believing that he might be delving into some risky and adventurous territory again, but to me the reality – despite the fact that he remains a phenomenally talented guitarist – has been a big disappointment. He seems to have blended bland AOR, new age cliches and medieval motifs in a way that doesn’t really do justice to any of the forms. Plus he seems to have been making the same album for 20 years.

    His statements in the wake of the sad loss of Jon Lord at least were gracious – something more than he’s been in the wake of the loss of some of his other musical compatriots. Maybe in personality he’s mellowing, possibly as a result of parenthood? Anyway let’s hope there’s still time for him to get musically adventurous again one day.

    • Bernard Maasdijk Says:

      Well put, Paul.

    • Arthur Smith Says:

      I’m not sure that’s an entirely fair summary Paul, the reality is that it was / is, very expensive to run a band like Rainbow and Ritchie was funding it, it needed to be more commercially successful to be able to sustain. I enjoyed the latter day Rainbow and thought they were a cut above the Foreigner ‘clones’ as you put it, I suspect they were more influential than successful in the US. Blackmore’s Night was very risky and adventurous for a guitarist of Ritchie’s background and standing. He has taken a lot of flack for it but he has stuck with it and is happy, if you don’t like it don’t listen to it!

      • simon robinson Says:

        It’s true that Rainbow became difficult to sustain, and that’s why pride was swallowed and some supporting shows in America followed later. I blame that pesky rainbow thing.

Leave a Reply

