Cover ‘art’ released

Here’s the sleeve for the special edition CD version of Now What – the cover is die-cut. The track listing is also now out and on the New Album page. The bonus track may be a cover of the old Jerry Lee Lewis song It’ll Be Me (which IG included on that Javelins revisited CD we did back in 1994 as the eagle-eyed Tim Summers has spotted). But as what I hoped might be a cover of the old James Bond track (All The Time In The World) turned out to be something else, we’re not counting on it!

Deep Purple Now What sleeve

Tags: , ,

18 Responses to “Cover ‘art’ released”

  1. Simon (Not Robinson) Says:

    Cover was probably developed in a “focus group” – perhaps they couldn’t agree and someone said “Now What?”. Complete lack of imagination. Pity really when RG is quite a good painter. This sleeve would never have emerged from Hipgnosis. Album sounds weak on itunes. Let’s face it, what we have now is a blurred shadow of the real Deep Purple. Just been listening to studio versions of Mistreated and Maybe I’m a Leo…

  2. David Says:

    Come on, admit it… you guys played Bananas and Rapture a bizzillion times…

    • simon robinson Says:

      In the case of Rapture, does bizzillion mean three times? I was desperate to find out why I didn’t get it!

  3. Christophe Colussa Says:

    I just like the artwork cause it’s simple. The band have to be straightforward, maybe like the early days. And we can now add a new band logo to our golden collection. Deep ?urp!e.

  4. Chris Lee Says:

    It’s a shame the band seem to take little or no interest in the marketing side of things, artwork included. Possibly my favourite sleeve is Come Taste The Band; nice pair of images, beautifully executed, & with a load of band photo’s on the inside. Just what a gatefold should be.

  5. timinox Says:

    Just saw an ad on Spotify for a new Bon Jovi album – called ‘What About Now’. DP could follow up with ‘How About What?’…
    This could run and run!

    • simon robinson Says:

      I was going to suggest “Now Then, Now Then’ but it’s probably in poor taste so I won’t.

  6. Timothy Says:

    It was only on the second glance at this that I noticed the ‘art’ bit is in using a “?” instead of a “P” in the band’s name – very subtle. It reminds me of the blood dribbling font that KISS used on their inner sleeve (remember those?) for Love Gun! Somehow even if I bought this on vinyl I can’t imagine sitting with headphones on analysing the cover for hours on end… I can’t see it making the second edition of a ‘Covered’ either (available now from easyontheeye books!)

  7. Kazz Says:

    and yes, we call that art in the 2013’s

  8. Mic Says:

    Personally, I think it’s very classy.

  9. Frederik Olsen Says:

    I like the cover. It’s simple, but remains classy. Arguably, “Perfect Strangers” had the last really good Deep Purple cover and there have been preciously few of these. I can think of “Stormbringer” and the aforementioned album…

  10. Richard Rayner Says:

    What a dreadful cover. No thought, no imagination, nothing even vaguely interesting or arresting. I thought ‘Rapture’ was poor, but it’s stunning in comparison to this. Well, if they can’t be bothered, then I don’t suppose I will either.

    • simon robinson Says:

      No, it’s not as bad as Rapture. Trust me! But even if someone somewhere has thought about the ‘look’ of the new covers, it is sloppy in execution which is naughty.

  11. Rick Freeman Says:

    I love ‘All the time in the World’. That would be a very nice cover song for Ian to sing.

  12. brian Says:

    Not exactly Storm Thorgerson or Ed Thrasher. Is it just me or is everything from the past better? I will say this, it’s a heck of a lot better than Banana’s cover!

    • simon robinson Says:

      Didn’t Storm, rather than quote a price, famously just ask bands or labels to pay him what they felt the artwork was worth when it was done? Ed Thrasher is a guy whose work more than deserves a massive retrospective; almost impossible to find a good US album cover without his name on the back.

Leave a Reply

