Bernie Marsden talks

LOOK AT ME NOW…” It was at Bristol’s Colston Hall in 2002 where Bernie Marsden bounded on stage with Deep Purple to rapturous applause. “Is that Ritchie Blackmore?” the twonk beside me shouted in my ear. “No, it’s Bernie Marsden!” I shouted back. “Is it?” The guy looked at me, looked at the stage, turned back to me and said, “nah, that’s not Bernie Marsden.” Given that I believe the death penalty should be re-introduced for people who talk at gigs (and people who make Meat Loaf records) this exchange of yes-it-is-no-it-isn’t continued for a short while until I told my new-found friend to go forth and multiply. But after the show I reflected that the ‘discussion’ probably sums up Bernie Marsden perfectly. Everyone knows who he is, but perhaps a lot less people actually, well, know who he is…”

Read the rest of John Tucker’s entertaining chat with the man from Whitesnake on his website here. I nearly got to fisticuffs with two chaps at a Mogwai gig in Nottingham a couple of years ago, who felt it incumbent to talk to each other loudly enough to be heard above what can be a pretty hefty volume from a band which pretty much likes to devour an audience, then stuck to the same chat level during all the nice quiet bits as well. Tossers. So let’s get that petition on you.gov right away John.  You can orderBernie’s two solo albums at DTBOnline store.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Bernie Marsden talks”

  1. Tony B Says:

    Good interview with Bernie

  2. Steve Lakey Says:

    Having seen Bernie with Whitesnake, it was a fascinating interview, looking back on his career. He comes across as a really humble guy.

  3. Lee Worrall Says:

    I’ll be the first to sign!

Leave a Reply

