Celebrating Jon Lord

lord boxThe date for this event has at last been officially confirmed and is now going to be on April 4. 2014 (originally this was planned for later on in 2013). Details are sketchy as yet but what there is will be detailed on the Jon Lord page on the site.  I was chatting with a fan about this a couple of weeks back and we both agreed it was going to be such a difficult evening to get right.  I was playing ’69 off Abandon the other day for some people (they couldn’t escape), and just hearing his clever work on that – capturing the 1970 tone and feel in just a few bars – was so good.  Indeed it did occur to me that there could be worse projects than to hand the tapes over to Bob Ezrin and see what he could bring to this as it seems to have passed a lot of people by at the time.

16 Responses to “Celebrating Jon Lord”

  1. Grannypants Says:

    I hope this is done right. It would sure be nice to see every band member that has been in Purple (and is still around) to play at least one number together in Jon’s memory. I hope Ritchie plays his new solo number Carry On in memory of Jon. Also, I would love to see Ritchie, David, Glenn, Paicey, and Don do a number together. My hopes aside, as long as it honours Jon, I am good with it.

  2. Drdp Says:

    is it too much to ask for a live rendition of “Carry on……Jon”?

    • clive bindley Says:

      You’re talking about co-operation from Mr Blackmore..it would be nice to think it’s possible but don’t holds your breath waiting!

  3. Christophe Colussa Says:

    On piano. On of the finest pics from Jon. Forever.
    It’s good to be king

  4. Dick Pimple Says:

    I was choked at the Sunflower Jam tribute to Jon. Very touching and emotional but spot on. Whoever oversaw that should be invited to contribute here. It was a wonderfully put together testimonial.

  5. Les Hedger Says:

    I hope the Tribute to Jon is recorded for those of us who can’t make it. Maybe the money from sales of the DVD could go to his family. Agree with the comments on “69”. Jon’s playing was fantastic throughout on this much underated album.

  6. Chris Lee Says:

    I have to admit that song did pass me by, though not for the excellent lyrics and organ-work; it just always struck me as a really formulaic riff, as if they got to the end of the writing session and suddenly thought ‘S**t, we haven’t got a fast song, better knock one out!’ Each to their own, eh? I went to a Nigel Kennedy concert in Nottingham a few weeks ago; the guy sitting behind me clocked my Jon Lord T-shirt as I sat down and told me he was a BBC producer working on a documentary of Jon’s life due to be aired on the anniversary of his death. Hope it’s worthy of him.

    • simon robinson Says:

      ’69 is certainly a fairly run of the mill riff which doesn’t sound like it taxed anyone overmuch, but the lyrics and that break work for me. Interesting about the JL documentary, hope it comes together.

  7. RB Says:

    I totally agree Abandon has some stunning playing on it (as good as ‘Now What?!’) and in my opinion contains Gillan’s last truly great vocal with the band. Roger’s production is top notch. Perhaps give him a chance to remix and sort out the poor production of ‘Bananas’ and ‘Rapture…’ (would cost a great deal more if Bob Ezrin did), perhaps then I’ll start to like those two. Wish they’d play ‘Almost Human’, Watching The Sky’, ‘Seventh Heaven’ and ‘Don’t Make Me Happy’.

  8. ps Says:

    Is there a DVD of previous jams? This web page shows some designs
    http://www.behance.net/gallery/Sunflower-Jam-Giants-of-Rock-DVD-Cover/9108571

  9. Vincent Brightling Says:

    Yep, it’s a great song Simon – but I think the mix is fairly poor on it. Great idea.

  10. steebu Says:

    Not me… I still rate Abandon as the best Morse-era DP release!

    • simon robinson Says:

      Perhaps there’s a secret club where we can all meet and share favourites, or maybe there are simply more fans of the album out there. But it did get a distinctly mixed reaction at the time I recall.

Leave a Reply

