Bob, Martin.

Deep Purple have whacked another new song into the current tour, the list is on DTB on the news page.
Meanwhile, Martin Popoff has been chatting to Bob Ezrin for the Bravewords website and, as you might imagine from the compiler of several Deep Purple books, come up with some really interesting insights into the album now that the initial flurry of excitement has died back a little.
“I think the mission was clearly to put the deep back in Deep Purple. I didn’t come into this thinking that I had a mission. I came into this a little bit reluctantly, thinking that they were looking to me to make a contemporary rock album with Deep Purple, which I didn’t feel was appropriate, or could be done in an honest way. But when I met with the guys, after seeing their live show, and seeing especially the big jam that they do in the middle of the show, which was just masterful, virtuosic… after seeing that, and meeting with the guys, I realized that there was that original essence of Deep Purple that people hadn’t heard on record in a long time, and that if they wanted to do that sort of thing, I was really into doing it with them. And I think it was Roger who actually used the phrase ‘put the deep back in Deep Purple,’ which was music to my ears, if you’ll forgive the pun. So once we figured that that would be the mission, then I was interested.”
Read the rest of the interview at:
http://www.bravewords.com/news/208742
Martin’s book on Deep Purple Gettin Tighter is available on import at DTB Online.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

