one voice to rule them all

Graham Bonnet biographySimon has just finished editing author Steve Wright’s Graham Bonnet text and this has now gone out for proofing (hello Tom and John!).  “As I came to Graham mainly through the Rainbow connection (and having seen him live a couple of times in recent years) one thing which did strike me was just how many guitarists Graham has worked with over the last 35 years. How about this for a list? Ritchie Blackmore, Michael Schenker, Yngwie Malmsteen, Chris Impelliteri, Steve Vai, Taz Taylor, Ray Fenwick, Micky Moody, Jan Akkerman, Mario Parga, Slash, Bob Kulick, Danny Johnson, Viv Campbell, Dario Mollo, Axel Rudi Pell, Uli Jon Roth, and Gary Moore!  I wonder if any other singer can match that? But I have to say reading it through has inspired me to go looking for a few bits of his later catalogue which I missed at the time, and to me that’s always the sign of a good book.”  Anyhow, the book is now into the design stage so anyone interested who has yet to join the mailing list for this is urged to do so, and get early details of any pre-launch offers, etc.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “one voice to rule them all”

  1. Colin Hadden Says:

    Rainbow Connection? I didn’t know Graham was part of the Muppets recordings!

  2. Scott W. Says:

    I’m surprised you posted my comment about this curious photo of Graham here (just boredom on my part)!
    I wonder if Coverdale ever thought to change up his phallic symbol microphone posturing to include this technique? Maybe he will when I see him June 2nd here in California on the Purplesnake tour!?

  3. Scott W. Says:

    That photo is hilarious! It looks like Graham is giving himself a ‘French backhand’… He he… I know, I’m a sicko!

  4. Jack Says:

    Rainbow must release an offical live album with Bonnet!!

    • simon robinson Says:

      According to the bio, a double vinyl white label of the complete Donington show was pressed up. I wonder who scuppered it?

      • Roy Davies Says:

        If the sound was anything like that on the Donington souvenir album, I suspect both Roger and Ritchie nixed the release! Glover mentioned the sound (mixed live on the day) was severely lacking, and he even redid the bass lines on the two tracks featured on the LP in the studio.

  5. Roy Davies Says:

    I always thought there’s a gap in the market for a decent ‘Graham Bonnet Anthology’ 2CD set – along the likes of the DPAS Blackmore Anthology Volumes of a few years back… something that collects together the best of his output from all eras of his career and includes a few rare live Rainbow things naturally!

    • simon robinson Says:

      I have suggested this, along with plans for reissuing some of the obscure albums, but Cherry Red said thanks for the input and walked off and did them with somebody else. That’s the last time I send them any ideas!

Leave a Reply

