Communication breakdown?

Roger Glover and Steve Morse Deep Purple liveThere has been a lot of speculation online about Steve Morse’s future in the group this past few days, sparked by an interview he gave with an online site, Rock, Roots and Blues. The report was not especially well phrased and the writer did seem to suggest Steve was preparing to leave and had even suggested replacements! Such was the chatter that Steve felt he needed to clarify the situation the other day:

RRB: “So Steve, are you leaving Deep Purple after this tour is over? I was under the impression that you were saying that to me the other night.”

SM: ”Well, I guess I’m not the best communicator! I thought that this tour, billed as the long goodbye tour, which I did see on one of my shirts, would be the final Deep Purple tour, but now it might not be?
I want to be on stage playing with the guys for the final show whenever that is. I plan on playing until I can’t play anymore or can’t play well enough for my own standards given how many people pay to come out and hear us, but, given the ongoing progressive problems (osteoarthritis) in my wrists, the writing seems to be on the wall. I am learning a fourth style of playing so that I can continue to do what I love, but the music that we play with Deep Purple may not allow me to continue. I’ll know when it’s time. Deep Purple is planning to record another album soon and the plan is for me to be there with them.”

So the long farewell tour may be longer than perhaps was anticipated by some and we may get a new studio album before too long. I do find it amusing that Steve is getting his updates from the tour shirts, but let’s hope that he gets his wish and if he does decide to call it a day they handle it better than previous band departures. Quite a few people have commented on what Steve calls his ‘fourth way’ and feel it works really well within Purple, and I have to say the grungier harder edge certainly worked for me the last couple of times I’ve seen them.

Thanks to everyone who helped on this story!

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment